(817) 754-0465

It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:30 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 105 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 Post subject: Newbie tries to get ripe seed capsule
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:52 am 
Site Admin

:oops: Hello!

I'm growing orchids for over 15 years but never tried to cross/hybridize.
For the first time I try to get a capsule and ripe seeds.
Today I took two pollen from my Phal. Florabilis, which I like a lot. I put one pollen on my Phal. bellina and one on Phal. Liodoro.
The orchid breeder from whom I got the Florabilis years ago told me, that it wasn't easy to get the cross again (florabilis x amabilis), the capsules where mostly empty or of no use so it was vasted time and money for him. I'm a complete newbie on this and I concluded, that it would be probably better to take bellina as pod parent and florabilis as pollen parent. Don't know if this was a correct idea.
Does anyone know if there's a possiblity to get capsules from these crosses (Liodoro is not so important, I'm more interested in bellina x Florabilis, Liodoro x Florabilis would just be a nice side effect.)
Thank's for any replies!

Greetings, Sylvia

Flickr!
Album Homepage

Post subject: Re: Newbie tries to get ripe seed capsule
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:20 pm 
Customer

Welcome to the world of hybridizing. Unfortunately, its not always as easy as getting 2 nice flowers together.