(817) 400-3930

It is currently Mon May 20, 2013 7:38 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:57 pm
Posts: 11655
Location: Texas, USA
A customer alerted me this ebay auction that uses my photo of Phal Giant Passion 'OK' to sell a plant labeled as Phalaenopsis-Chingrueys-Giant-Sogo - which is not a valid name.

I do not recognize this seller. I have contacted him to remove my photo immediately.

Please pass this along if you know of anyone who might be interested in purchasing this plant of unknown origin.

Thank you,

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Phalaenopsis-Chingrueys-Giant-Sogo-/251048472543?_trksid=m7&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D3%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D8028320338935332143

_________________
Peter Lin, Admin
Big Leaf Orchids


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 10:48 pm
Posts: 1108
Location: Orléans, FRANCE
I don't know this british seller.
The photo use without permission on Ebay is relatively frequent. I contacted a malaysian seller last week for a Cattleya intermedia photo which was mine.

_________________
Eric My Website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:21 am 
Offline
Customer

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:05 am
Posts: 1192
Location: Salem Oregon, USA
Peter, they are also using one of your photos for this auction :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dtps-Lih-Jiang- ... 3a739edb77

_________________
Read all about my adventures in Going Postal and Making Money by Terry Pratchett.
Oh, did I mention I'm a horrible speller?
I have pallens to trade, anyone interested?

Moist


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:57 pm
Posts: 11655
Location: Texas, USA
Thanks Moist

Eric I know it's a common problem and I don't have the time or desire to police eBay.

I got a reply from this seller who thought that he is doing me a favor to give me free advertising. What a funny remark.

_________________
Peter Lin, Admin
Big Leaf Orchids


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:33 am 
Offline
Customer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:43 pm
Posts: 232
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Wow, complete with the Big Leaf watermark, that is brazen. I hope besides contacting the seller you also clicked on the "report this item" link. Hopefully after a few complaints ebay will remove his account.


Last edited by Jayfar on Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:34 am 
Offline
Customer

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:05 am
Posts: 1192
Location: Salem Oregon, USA
peterlin wrote:
Thanks Moist

Eric I know it's a common problem and I don't have the time or desire to police eBay.

I got a reply from this seller who thought that he is doing me a favor to give me free advertising. What a funny remark.

Right free advertising for you and false advertising for him. If he really was doing that then first he should have asked you for permission to use the photo, second said that the photo was used with your permission and posted a link to your store and 3rd said that the flower would be similar to your photo (assuming that it would be similar). Otherwise it is just a plain copyright infringement.

_________________
Read all about my adventures in Going Postal and Making Money by Terry Pratchett.
Oh, did I mention I'm a horrible speller?
I have pallens to trade, anyone interested?

Moist


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:11 am 
Offline
Customer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 12:40 am
Posts: 1466
Location: Texas
peterlin wrote:
I got a reply from this seller who thought that he is doing me a favor to give me free advertising. What a funny remark.


LOL.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 5:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 8:16 am
Posts: 539
Location: England in Essex.
Hmmmmm one to remember and avoid then.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:49 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Norwich/United Kingdom
Shame on me... I bought the seedling of this plant :oops: I'm very sorry Peter, I didn't know :x I'm going to contact this guy right away :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:28 am 
Offline
Customer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:11 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Copperhill, Tn.
we should all start bombarding him with messages calling him a crook etc. Did you see his other phals? Weird names and none of his pics are consistent. Probably all plagiarized.

_________________
"Endless forms, most beautiful and most wonderful, have been and are being evolved." Charles Darwin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:31 am
Posts: 307
Location: Croydon, London, United Kingdom.
I must admit to have looked at his auctions a few times, but never really felt like I wanted to buy anything from him.

His plants are really small seedlings, yet he puts photos of the flowers, then his descriptions are two sometimes three different plant names, so... Which one would I be buying?

Also, looking at his feedback, although there is a high(ish) score at nearly 99%, if you look at the negative feedback and how he responds to it, seems to me that he does not take very well any criticism... If he cannot try to be helpful to people who aren't happy, why would I bother buying anything from him?

That is why despite using ebay for buying plants sometime within the EU, I am always very wary of buying from people I have never dealt with before, and normally seek advice on forums for people who might have dealt with a seller on ebay before I buy anything from them.

Francis

_________________
http://www.phalaenopsisandmore.co.uk
With the kind permission of Peter lin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 8:16 am
Posts: 539
Location: England in Essex.
Hahahaha some of the plant names he has put up over time aren't even on the RHS database...I too was tempted by a sogo grape seedling from him. I saw all the weird crosses and this thread and haven't gone near this seller.

The crosses offered are bizarre. I have been watching his ebay over time, and it really is puzzling. I don't know why people buy them, as I cant imagine they will make stunning plants. LOL perhaps I am wrong, and missing out on potential stunners :lol: .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:21 am
Posts: 13
Location: Maryland
Wow, I wonder how the seller can run a business selling random seedlings with made-up names and stolen photos. :puke-front: :puke-huge: Ebay should be more stringent on copyright infringements!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group